U.S. Embassy Montevideo - Archives


The Embassy awards prizes in Independence Day drawing and essay contest

Winners include students from Montevideo, Las Piedras, Fray Bentos and Paysandú

June 18, 2004


Ambassador Martin J. Silverstein awarded prizes to the winners in the drawing and essay contest sponsored by the U.S. Embassy for the 228th anniversary of U.S. Independence Day.

This year’s winners, students from Montevideo, Las Piedras, Fray Bentos and Paysandu, received their prizes in a ceremony held at the U.S. Embassy Friday (June 18). Representatives from collaborating companies attended the ceremony.

Contest judges had the arduous task of choosing the winners from nearly 200 drawings and essays sent to the U.S. Embassy.

The winners in each category as well as the institutions they attend received prizes such as computers, laptops, televisions, cellular phones and radio/tap players.

“Common Values” was the theme of this year’s essay and drawing contest. This is the third year the U.S. Embassy has sponsored the contest.

The winners in their categories are listed below:


First Prize:
Student: Elisa Perdomo Moure (age 11)
School: School No. 3
Fray Bentos, Rio Negro
Second Prize:
Student: Lucia Belen Piriz (age 11)

Essay (age 12 to 17)

First Prize:
Student: Juan Ignacio Monteghirfo (age 12)
School: High School No. 2 “German Cabrera”
Las Piedras, Canelones
to view click here

Second Prize: Rodrigo Silva Gay-Balmaz
to view click here

Essay (age 18 to 24)

First Prize
Student: Paula Pereyra Acosta
University: Facultad de Ciencias Economicas, Univ. de la Republica
to view click here

Second Prize
Student: Mauricio Bentancort
University: Facultad de Derecho, Univ. de la Republica
to view click here


Thanks to the companies that contributed for Fourth of July events:

Abbott Laboratories Uruguay
American Airlines
Dollar Rent-a-Car
Endeavor Uruguay
Esso Uruguay
Federal Express
General Motors
Hotel Conrad
Hotel Radisson
Hotel Sheraton
John Deere
McDonald's Uruguay
Volt Autologic
Frigorifico Canelones
Montevideo Refrescos
Merill Lynch


Ambassador Martin J. Silverstein and Reynaldo de Gregoria of Hotel Radisson present the second place award for drawing to Lucia Belen Piriz. The Ambassador and Pablo Pesce of Hotel Sheraton present the first place award to Elisa Perdomo Moure.
The Ambassador and Gabriel Turturiello of John Deere present the second place award for the essay contest (age 12-17) to Rodrigo Silva Gay-Balmaz. The Ambassador and Ralph Schmidt of Colonvade present the first place award to Juan Ignacio and to the director of his school No. 2 “German Cabrera”.
The Ambassador and Marcos Grolero of Hotel Conrad present the second place award for essays (age 18- 24) to Mauricio Bentancort. The Ambassador and Gabriela Gonzalez of Volt Autologic present the first place award to Paula Pereyra.
First place drawing by Elisa Perdomo Moure Second place drawing by Lucia Belen Piriz
Freedom wall Freedom wall

/ Return to:  Home l Previous page

Jump to:  2003  2004  2005  2006  2007  2008  2009  2010  |  Official Website