U.S. Embassy Montevideo - Archives



Maria Moors Cabot Prizes in journalism calling for nominations

Honoring journalistic contributions to inter-American understanding. New deadline for submissions is February 15, 2005

Posted: December 13, 2004  

Columbia University is inviting nominations for the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes, the oldest international awards in journalism. Since their inception in 1938, the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes have recognized distinguished public service in journalism that has enhanced sympathetic understanding among the peoples of the Western Hemisphere.

Founded by the late Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston as a memorial to his wife, the Cabot Prizes are awarded each fall to three or four journalists in the Western Hemisphere who, through their sustained and distinguished body of work, have contributed to Inter-American understanding. Occasionally the award goes to an organization that has made a similar contribution.

Who is eligible?

- Any journalist and/or news executive who works for any news organization based in the Western Hemisphere or any press association, news service or syndicate that serves such an organization;

- Other individuals, including freelance journalists with a long record of reporting on the region;

- All media, including Internet publications.

Entries will be judged by a Cabot Prize Board comprising journalists and educators concerned with hemisphere affairs, headed by the dean of the Graduate School of Journalism. The prizes are awarded by the Trustees of Columbia University on the recommendation of the dean. Winners are announced in July and are honored at a ceremony held in New York each year in the fall. The awards consist of a Cabot medal and a $5,000 honorarium.

As of the year 2004, 241 prizes and 54 special citations have been conferred on journalists from the Caribbean, Latin America, Canada, the United States and other nations. In 2004, the winners were Gerardo Reyes, investigative reporter, El Nuevo Herald (Miami, Fla.); Daniel Santoro, investigative reporter, Clarín (Argentina); Elena Poniatowska, author and columnist, La Jornada (Mexico); and Joel Millman, The Wall Street Journal U.S.-Mexico border bureau chief. A Special Citation was awarded to Alberto Ibargüen, publisher of The Miami Herald and El Nuevo Herald.

What makes a Cabot winner....

The Cabot Prize Board and the dean look for exceptional reporting and evidence of commitment to important stories over the course of a long and distinguished career. They are particularly interested in hearing about journalists and news organizations that have made a sustained contribution to inter-American understanding through their coverage of the Americas. The Board and the dean are also interested in honoring those journalists who have taken an active role in upholding freedom of the press in the Americas. Although awards have been made to publishers and other managerial personnel, the Board is especially interested in individual journalists.


(Please provide TWO copies of each of the following items.)

- A copy of the nominee's biography listing education, journalistic experience and public service, with dates;

- A statement describing how the nominee has contributed towards international understanding in the Western Hemisphere;

- At least five but no more than ten (without prior authorization) newspaper or magazine articles that are representative of the nominee's work;

- Copies of books, if applicable;

- VHS tapes for television entries or CDs for radio entries.

If you know of a journalist or media organization that deserves to be recognized, please send the completed nomination form and pertinent material. Forms are also available online at http://www.jrn.columbia.edu/events/cabot/. Nominations must be signed by the person submitting the nomination. Letters from third parties that explain why the nominee is especially deserving of the prize are also welcome. Please avoid elaborate portfolios, however, as the nominee may be considered again in some future year. Supporting material will not be returned.

The deadline for submissions is February 15. Nomination forms and pertinent material should be mailed to:

Maria Moors Cabot Prizes
Graduate School of Journalism
Columbia University
2950 Broadway MC 3800
New York, NY 10027-7004
Fax: (212) 854-3800

/ Return to:  Home l Previous page

Jump to:  2003  2004  2005  2006  2007  2008  2009  2010  |  Official Website