U.S. Embassy Montevideo - Archives



Nominations sought from around the world for the 2005 Courage in Journalism Awards and Lifetime Achievement Award

Posted: December 17, 2004  

The International Women’s Media Foundation is seeking nominations from around the world for its 2005 Courage in Journalism Awards and Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Courage in Journalism Awards honor women working in the news media who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances, such as government oppression, political pressure, physical danger or other intimidating obstacles. This prestigious award carries a cash prize of US$5,000 and a crystal sculpture which symbolizes freedom and courage.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose determination has paved the way for future generations of women in the media. Recipients also demonstrate a strong commitment to freedom of the press and a solid record of accomplishments in journalism. A crystal sculpture is presented with this award.

The IWMF will present three women journalists with Courage in Journalism Awards and one woman journalist with the Lifetime Achievement Award at ceremonies in October 2005 in New York City and Los Angeles.

The International Women’s Media Foundation is celebrating its Fifteenth Anniversary Year in 2004-2005. Founded in 1990, the IWMF is a non-profit, non-partisan organization whose mission is to strengthen the role of women in the news media worldwide and help protect freedom of the press.

Eligible candidates: For both awards, candidates can be full-time, part-time or freelance women journalists working in print, broadcast or online media working in any country. Candidates for the Lifetime Achievement Award can be retired journalists.

To nominate a journalist: Please note that self-nominations are not accepted. All nominations must be in English and include:

· Completed nomination form (available at www.iwmf.org/courage/nominate.php)

· Nomination statement completed by a professional associate

· Brief biography of the candidate highlighting her work as it relates to the Courage in Journalism Awards or the Lifetime Achievement Award

· Resume or CV of the candidate

· Examples of the candidate’s work (details on the nomination form)

· Two letters of support from professional associates

Deadline: All nominations must be submitted between January 1, 2005 and March 15, 2005. Completed nominations, including all supporting documents, must be received by the IWMF no later than March 15, 2005. Nominations can be submitted by regular mail, courier service, fax or E-mail. Winners will be announced in May 2005.

Questions: Please contact Charity Fain, Project Manager, IWMF, 1625 K Street, NW, Suite 1275, Washington, DC 20006, USA. Tel. +1 (202) 496-1992, fax +1 (202) 496-1977, E-mail: courage@iwmf.org.

Brief bios of all previous award winners are available at www.iwmf.org/courage/awardees.php

/ Return to:  Home l Previous page

Jump to:  2003  2004  2005  2006  2007  2008  2009  2010  |  Official Website